AVANIR to Present at November Investment Conferences

Webcasts Scheduled for November 5 at 3:40 p.m. ET and November 6 at 3:45 p.m. ET

ALISO VIEJO, Calif., October 29, 2007 – AVANIR Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ:AVNR) today announced that Keith Katkin, President and Chief Executive Officer, will make presentations at two investment community conferences in November:

  • CIBC World Markets 18th Annual Healthcare Conference on Monday, November 5 at 3:40 p.m. Eastern time (12:40 p.m. Pacific time). This conference will be held at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York. For more information visit http://conferences.cibcwm.com/health07/index.html.
  • Acumen BioFin Rodman & Renshaw 9th Annual Healthcare Conference on Tuesday, November 6 at 3:45 p.m. Eastern time (12:45 p.m. Pacific time). This conference will be held at the New York Palace Hotel in New York. For more information visit http://rodmanandrenshaw.com/conferences?id=6.

Live audio and slide webcasts of these presentations will be available via the Internet by visiting AVANIR's website at www.avanir.com. An archive of each presentation will be available on the website for 30 days. In addition, a copy of the presentation will be available for viewing on the AVANIR website from 8:00 a.m. Eastern time (5:00 a.m. Pacific time) on Monday, November 5.

About AVANIR

AVANIR Pharmaceuticals is focused on developing, acquiring and commercializing novel therapeutic products for the treatment of chronic diseases. AVANIR's products and product candidates address therapeutic markets that include the central nervous system (CNS), inflammation and infectious diseases. AVANIR's lead product candidate Zenvia is being developed for the treatment of pseudobulbar affect (PBA) and is the subject of an approvable letter from the FDA for that indication. Additionally, in April 2007 AVANIR announced meeting all primary endpoints in a Phase III clinical trial with Zenvia in patients with diabetic peripheral neuropathic (DPN) pain. AVANIR has licensed a compound to Novartis International Pharmaceutical Ltd. for the treatment of inflammatory disease. AVANIR's infectious disease drug candidate, AVP-21D9, is a human monoclonal antibody in pre-clinical development for the treatment of anthrax with funding provided to date from an NIH/NIAID grant. The Company's first commercialized product, Abreva®, is marketed in North America by GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare and is the leading over-the-counter product for the treatment of cold sores. Further information about AVANIR can be found at www.avanir.com.

To be included on AVANIR's e-mail alert list, visit AVANIR's website or click on the link below: http://www.b2i.us/irpass.asp?BzID=958&to=ea&s=0.

Oct 29, 2007